Okay, I have a bit of a confession to make: I am a nerd. I love learning, new things fascinate me, and I could sit down for hours, if I like the topic, and read and read and learn. I think, though, that learning new words is the most fascinating because vocabulary hasn’t always been my forte. I am quick to absorb material but up until a while ago my vocabulary was still pretty limited. No offense to the people around me, but I was stuck in a town where people don’t speak proper English and the vocabulary lists are very defined. Being where I am now is  refreshing because the people around me are very well-educated, they speak proper English, and they use AWESOME vocabulary. They use big words in place of small words. I love it. I absolutely love it. Sometimes it can get overwhelming but in those times the word goes to the back of my mind and waits until I am ready to learn its meaning. The other day someone said the word pompous. It has been stuck in my head for days. It’s so bold, yet so infinite. I love science. I like to know why things work the way they work. This is one of the reason Zhanna and I are great friends, she too is a science-y-how the world works kind of gal. I love to write both fiction and non-fiction. I like to read pretty much EVERYTHING. The last book I read was The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls, fantastic book by the way, and now am working on The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon, also a great read. I like math although it has always been a struggle for me. I just like learning which brings me to the case in point: right now I have a guy in town who is very intelligent and very wise. He works in the psychology field and does a lot of neuro-reprogramming work with his clients. He has worked with me for the past two days and I have to say that his work has enamored, amazed, confused, and frustrated me.  I want to learn how he does what he does. I want to know how and why the things he is doing are working. I love the kind of challenge that asks you to learn. I’m a nerd and I love it.

Leave a Reply

